Wholeschool Portal | Home 15 November 2018
 Liturgical Committee
  Our Liturgical Committee members for 2016/2017 are:
Courtney Keenan, Sheena Byrne, Shannon Taylor, Shannon Maguire, Julia Doolan, Caitlin Brookes, Seana Gribben, Sarah Connolly, Tierna Rice and Bethan O’Flaherty

There are presently 12 members including pupils from both years 13 and 14. The aim of the Liturgy Committee is to assist the RE Department in nurturing the Catholic ethos of St. Mary’s and promoting a greater awareness of liturgical seasons and religious events in school and in the parish. We also aim to be role models for younger pupils in the practice of our faith.

Achievements of the group
The Liturgy Committee has organised and delivered assemblies based on important religious festivals. The committee was also responsible for establishing a Junior St Vincent de Paul Society in school last year which organised the Christmas giving tree and the candy cane initiative. This raised £70 for SVDP Society

The committee has been responsible for updating notice boards reflecting liturgical seasons and advertising important parish events. Many have also undertaken the Pope John Paul Award which requires a commitment to give 20 hours voluntary service to the community and 20 hours to church activities. Some members have helped with the organisation of masses celebrated in the oratory during Advent and Lent.

At our meetings we decide which aspects of school life we would like to be involved with and we can bring our own ideas and suggestions. We are given opportunities to develop leadership skills, planning and organisational skills and interpersonal skills which will be of great benefit in our further studies. It also gives us an opportunity to consider and facilitate our own faith development
Actions to be undertaken by group this year
• We would like to develop the Junior St Vincent de Paul Society further
• We will continue to plan and organise assemblies and provide opportunities for prayer in the oratory